MLC Life Insurance appoints Chief Financial Officer | MLC Life Insurance
Media release

26 February 2020

MLC Life Insurance appoints Chief Financial Officer

MLC Life Insurance has appointed Kent Griffin as its new Chief Financial Officer, reporting directly to Acting Chief Executive Officer, Sean McCormack, as a member of his Leadership Team.

Kent will lead both the finance and actuarial teams at MLC Life Insurance. He will have accountability for financial management and internal audit strategies, systems, controls and governance frameworks to ensure continued compliance with industry and regulatory standards.

Sean McCormack, Acting Chief Executive Officer, MLC Life Insurance, said:

“I’m delighted that Kent has joined us. It is an important time for MLC Life Insurance as we ensure sustainability for now and the future and fulfil our ambition to be Australia’s leading and most trusted life insurer. As a seasoned financial services professional, Kent’s experience will be instrumental as we adapt to the ongoing structural challenges facing the life insurance industry and deliver on the promises we make to our customers and business partners.

“Kent will also play a key role in maintaining our momentum in delivering the most advanced digital ecosystem in the industry to create a great experience for our customers and business partners. I look forward to him joining our leadership team.”

Kent has over thirty years’ corporate and consulting experience in financial services, both in Australia and internationally. Prior to joining MLC Life Insurance, Kent was the Chief Financial Officer of TAL (2012-19). Before that, he was a partner of Ernst & Young (2010-2012) and Regional Chief Financial Officer of AXA Asia Life (2007-2009).

Kent has a Bachelor of Economics, is a Fellow of the Actuaries Institute, a Chartered Enterprise Risk Actuary, and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He has served on several Boards, both in Australia and internationally, and is currently a Director of Hume Bank and a Board Member of the Country Fire Authority.